If you bought a Nest or an ecobee to put on your electric baseboard heat, stop and return it. It will not work, and wiring it in can destroy it. Baseboard heat runs on line voltage (120V or 240V switched directly by the thermostat), and Nest, ecobee, Honeywell‘s smart line, and nearly every popular smart thermostat are 24V low-voltage only.
You need a line-voltage smart thermostat: Mysa, Sinope, or Stelpro Maestro. Here’s how they differ on the specs that actually decide the install.
TL;DR: Electric baseboard, in-wall, and fan-forced heaters are line voltage. A 24V thermostat (Nest, ecobee, most Honeywell smart units) cannot switch that load and will fail. Buy a line-voltage model rated for your circuit’s voltage (120V or 240V) and wattage. For most US 240V baseboard runs, Mysa for Baseboard V2 or a Sinope TH1124WF is the pick.
Why a 24V thermostat can’t run baseboard heat
A gas furnace or heat pump thermostat is a low-voltage controller. It sits on a 24V AC control circuit and tells a relay or control board to do the heavy switching elsewhere. The wires at the wall (R, C, W, Y, G) carry 24V AC, not heating power.
Electric baseboard has no control board and no 24V transformer. The thermostat is the switch. It carries the full heating current at line voltage and opens or closes that circuit directly. So the device has to be built for 120V or 240V and rated to carry the heater’s amperage. A 24V thermostat fed line voltage is the wrong tool: best case it does nothing, worst case you damage it or trip the breaker.
That is the blind spot. The box on a Nest doesn’t say “won’t work on baseboard” in big letters, so people find out at the junction box.
The metric everyone checks vs. the engineering blind spot
Shopping for a smart thermostat, most people check the same list: works with Alexa or Google, has an app, geofencing, a nice screen. Every thermostat here and every one you’d reject clears that bar.
The blind spot is four electrical facts that decide whether the thermostat is even legal and safe on your wall:
- Supported voltage: 120V, 240V, or both.
- Max load: watts and amps it can switch without overheating.
- Single-pole vs. double-pole: on 240V, whether it breaks one leg or both.
- Neutral wire: whether your box even has the wires the thermostat needs.
None of that is on the front of the box. All of it is in the install sheet.
How the three compare
| Spec | Mysa for Baseboard (V2) | Sinope TH1123WF / TH1124WF | Stelpro Maestro (SMT402AD) |
|---|---|---|---|
| Voltage | 120V / 240V | 120 / 208 / 240V | 120 / 208 / 240V |
| Max load | 1,900W @ 120V / 3,800W @ 240V (16A) | TH1123WF: 3,000W @ 240V (12.5A); TH1124WF: 4,000W @ 240V (16.7A) | 2,000W @ 120V / 3,400W @ 208V / 4,000W @ 240V (16.7A) |
| Single vs double pole | Single-pole switching (connects both power legs) | Single-pole (triac) | Provisional (not stated on product page) |
| Neutral / wires needed | Needs L1 + L2/Neutral (3-4 wires) | 2-wire, non-polarized, no neutral | Provisional (not stated) |
| Fan-forced support | Yes (short + long cycle) | Yes (FAN long-cycle mode) | Provisional (verify by model) |
| App | Mysa (HomeKit, Alexa, Google) | Neviweb (HomeKit, Alexa, Google) | Maestro / Neviweb |
The blind-spot delta: where the install goes right or wrong
Mysa for Baseboard V2 is the high-load, app-polished pick, but it needs more wires. It switches up to 3,800W at 240V (16A, on a 20A breaker) and supports fan-forced convectors. The catch is wiring: Mysa requires a connection to both power wires (L1 and L2/neutral), so it wants 3-4 wires in the box. Internally it switches one load leg (single-pole behavior) while connecting to both. If your old thermostat is a simple 2-wire line-voltage unit, you may be short a conductor.
Sinope TH1123WF / TH1124WF is the 2-wire workhorse. Its wires are non-polarized and it installs with two wires and no neutral, which is exactly what most existing baseboard boxes already have. The two models differ only in capacity: the TH1123WF handles 3,000W / 12.5A at 240V, the TH1124WF handles 4,000W / 16.7A at 240V. Both run baseboard, convector, radiant ceiling, and fan-forced (in FAN mode). Both are single-pole triac designs that switch one leg of the 240V circuit, not both.
Stelpro Maestro SMT402AD covers the same voltage range and up to 4,000W at 240V (16.7A), and it’s a long-standing line-voltage smart thermostat. Two cautions: Stelpro’s product page does not state its single/double-pole config, neutral requirement, or fan-forced support, and the SMT402AD SKU is marked discontinued. Treat those as provisional and confirm the current SKU (SMC402AD or ASMT402AD) and its install sheet before buying.
Single-pole vs. double-pole on 240V: why it matters for safety
US electric baseboard is usually 240V, fed by two hot legs (L1 and L2), each at 120V to ground. A single-pole thermostat switches only one of those legs. When it’s “off,” that leg is open, but the heater still has one hot leg energized through it. A double-pole thermostat opens both legs, fully disconnecting power to the heater.
Mysa, Sinope’s TH1123WF/TH1124WF, and most smart line-voltage thermostats are single-pole. That’s normal and code-compliant for control, but it means the heater is never fully dead just because the thermostat reads “off.” Some jurisdictions require a double-pole device for specific installs. If you need a true double-pole disconnect, confirm a double-pole model before buying. Do not assume a single-pole smart thermostat provides it.
Safety: this is line voltage, not 24V
Turn off the breaker for the heating circuit at the panel, then confirm the wires are dead with a non-contact voltage tester or multimeter before you touch anything. This is 120V or 240V, enough to seriously injure or kill you, not the harmless 24V of a furnace thermostat. There is no C-wire safety margin here. If you are not fully comfortable working with line-voltage wiring, stop and hire a licensed electrician. Sinope’s own install sheet states installation must be done by a certified electrician per national and local codes.
Two more traps:
- Match the load to the rating. Add up the wattage of every heater on the circuit. If your baseboards total 4,200W at 240V, a 3,000W (TH1123WF) thermostat is undersized, so step up to a 4,000W model. Also check the minimum load: the Sinope needs at least 500W at 240V for baseboard (1,000W for fan-forced), so it won’t reliably run a tiny 250W heater.
- Aluminum wiring. Older baseboard circuits sometimes use aluminum conductors. Use CO/ALR-rated connectors, as Sinope’s sheet specifies.
The verdict
Winner for a standard US 240V baseboard run: Mysa for Baseboard V2 or the Sinope TH1124WF. Both switch up to ~3,800-4,000W at 240V and both handle fan-forced heaters. Pick on wiring: if your box has only two wires and no neutral, the Sinope drops in directly. If you have the extra conductor and want the more refined app and screen, Mysa is the nicer daily driver.
Buy the Sinope TH1123WF instead if your total connected load is under 3,000W at 240V and you want the cheapest 2-wire smart option that still does fan-forced and radiant ceiling.
Skip all of these (and skip the smart upgrade) if you actually need a true double-pole disconnect for code and can’t confirm a double-pole model, or if your heater falls below the thermostat’s minimum load. A mismatched line-voltage thermostat isn’t a comfort compromise; it’s a safety and code problem.
When it flips to a wired pro install: if you’re running multiple baseboard zones, mixing fan-forced and passive heaters on one controller, or unsure of your conductor count and amperage, the right move is an electrician who sizes the thermostat to the circuit. The hardware is cheap; the line-voltage mistake is not.
Frequently asked questions
Will a Nest or ecobee work on electric baseboard heat? No. Nest and ecobee are 24V low-voltage thermostats designed for furnaces, heat pumps, and central HVAC. Electric baseboard is line voltage (120V or 240V) switched directly by the thermostat. Wiring a 24V thermostat to line voltage will not work and can destroy it. Use a line-voltage model like Mysa, Sinope, or Stelpro Maestro.
How do I know if my baseboard is 120V or 240V? Check the breaker: a 240V circuit uses a double-pole breaker (two switches tied together) and has two hot wires. A 120V circuit uses a single breaker. Most whole-room electric baseboard in the US is 240V. Confirm with a meter at the breaker-off state before wiring, or have an electrician verify.
What does “single-pole vs. double-pole” mean for my baseboard thermostat? On a 240V circuit, single-pole switches one of the two hot legs; double-pole switches both. A single-pole thermostat reading “off” still leaves one leg energized at the heater, so the circuit isn’t fully dead unless you trip the breaker. Double-pole fully disconnects. Most smart line-voltage thermostats are single-pole; some installs require double-pole by code.
Do I need a neutral wire for a line-voltage smart thermostat? It depends on the model. The Sinope TH1123WF/TH1124WF installs with two non-polarized wires and no neutral, which matches most existing baseboard boxes. Mysa for Baseboard V2 needs a connection to both power wires (L1 and L2/neutral), so it wants 3-4 wires. Check the install sheet against what’s actually in your wall before you buy.
Sources & verification
✓ Verified against a manufacturer or standards source
- Mysa for Baseboard V2: 120V/240V; 1,900W @ 120V, 3,800W @ 240V; 16A max (20A breaker); requires L1 + L2/Neutral (3-4 wires); supports fan-forced convector; 250W min load — https://getmysa.com/en-us/products/mysa-baseboard
- Sinope TH1123WF: 120/208/240 Vac; max 12.5A / 3,000W @ 240V (1,500W @ 120V); 2-wire, non-polarized, no neutral required; supports fan-forced convector (FAN long-cycle mode); min 500W @ 240V baseboard, 1,000W @ 240V fan-forced — https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0569/5727/2150/files/660-1505-0005-E_Instruction_sheet_TH1123WF-TH1124WF_ENG_web.pdf
- Sinope TH1124WF: same family as TH1123WF but higher capacity (max 16.7A / 4,000W @ 240V); 2-wire non-polarized, no neutral; fan-forced supported — https://cdn.shopify.com/s/files/1/0569/5727/2150/files/660-1505-0005-E_Instruction_sheet_TH1123WF-TH1124WF_ENG_web.pdf
- Sinope TH1123WF/TH1124WF use a triac (bilateral triode switch), resistive load only — https://thermostat.guide/sinope/sinope-th1123wf-smart-thermostat-for-electric-heating-product-specifications-guide/
- Stelpro Maestro SMT402AD: 120/208/240V; 2,000W @ 120V, 3,400W @ 208V, 4,000W @ 240V; 16.7A — https://www.homelectrical.com/4000w-maestro-smart-line-voltage-thermostat-240v208v120v-167-amps.stp-smt402ad.1.html
⚠ Provisional — industry-average estimate, not a direct manufacturer/spec citation
- Mysa V2 single-pole vs double-pole: Mysa states it switches one load wire (single-pole) but connects to both power wires; it can replace a double-pole thermostat, though it does not fully open both legs of a 240V circuit. Treat ‘double-pole disconnect’ as NOT provided pending Mysa confirmation.
- Stelpro Maestro SMT402AD neutral-wire requirement and single/double-pole config not stated on the product page; SMT402AD is also marked discontinued by Stelpro, so confirm current SKU (SMC402AD / ASMT402AD) and its wiring before buying.
- Stelpro Maestro fan-forced support not confirmed on the SMT402AD page (Stelpro lists separate fan-heater models); verify against the install guide for your application.





